No – not talking about weight…  Talking about work.

So I haven’t been happy doing what I do for several years now, but it pays well, and I need to live and be able to even think about retiring some day… Damn the golden handcuffs…

The contract I’m working on now is winding down and I can’t even fill 40 hours a week with work.  So I’ve been kind of looking.  I had a line on a job downtown, didn’t know much about it, but then I heard this morning the job was filled.  Okay, no biggie, time to think about looking for a different kind of job.

Then around lunch time I hear the job is still open, and they want to talk to me ASAP.  So I send my resume, and have a phone interview with the hiring manager and the other guy in the group.  Work does sound interesting, and the two guys sound nice, and now they want me to come in ASAP for an in person gang interview.

I’m going to go ahead and do the interview as soon as I get word they have it scheduled…  But I’m wondering if I’m just going after this job just to have a job…  Granted in these times that’s not a bad thing, but it seems to be all I ever do.

I suppose it would be a different thing altogether if I had some specific fabulous new job/career in mind – but I don’t.  I have NO idea what I would want to do – NONE.  Well, that’s not strictly true – I was chatting with the BGBF and here’s what I told him I wanted:

  • Job I like
  • Job I don’t have to take it home with me (i.e., on-call pager)
  • Job where I don’t have to manage pissy little sysadmins

This job is not a management job, it DOES involve on-call duty, and I may or may not like it.

But it’s a job….

Perhaps I’m jumping the gun, it’s not like I have an offer letter…

Life would be so much easier if I was so rich I could just do any job I wanted and not have to worry about how much or little it paid….

Sounds like someone’s got a case of the Mondays….

